Clubs & Organizations

Student Clubs and Organizations


Why Should You Get Involved?

Being involved is the best way to connect to the college community, to make new friends, to have fun, and to extend your education beyond what you learn in the classroom. Research has shown that if students are involved in at least one activity on campus, they are much more likely to have overall success and to graduate. So join the El Centro community, volunteer in the community, or join one of our 30 + plus student organizations on campus!
 

A

  • Anime Club
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To promote better understanding of Asian cultures and spark interest in other societies and languages through anime and manga, as well as to facilitate the socialization of students with a shared interest in all aspects of Japanese culture, including Japanese art, music, comics, video games and/or other various forms of Japanese expression and entertainment.
    Advisor: Peter Brown
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2345 / peter.brown@dcccd.edu

  • American Society of Interior Design
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To serve as a forum for fostering the education and professional development of students enrolled in the Interior Design program, as well as to provide experiences that develop the skills related to the many facets and areas of expertise in the design industry.
    Advisor: Risë Talbot
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2697 /rtalbot@dcccd.edu

B

  • Biology Club
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To promote the field of biology to the students of the El Centro Campus, provide members the opportunity to learn more about biology on and off campus and offer experiences that lead to a greater appreciation of biological concepts and professions in biological fields. As well as serve the college community by hosting events to promote the application of biology in the real world.
    Advisor: Rebekkah Watson
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2743/ rwatson@dcccd.edu

  • Business Office Systems & Support (BOSS)
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To create a support system for the students via mentors and professional organizations and act as ambassadors for the BOSS program. We also aim to create opportunities for students to make a difference in the college and professional life.
    Advisor: Olivia Kerr
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2280/ okerr@dcccd.edu

C

  • Chaparral Basketball Team
  • Mission Statement/Purpose:
    Advisor: Michael Higgins
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2472/ mhiggins@dcccd.edu

  • Chess Club
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: The purpose of the ECC Chess Club is to promote an interest in Chess among the student body at El Centro College. The organization is committed to helping students learn new critical thinking skills, competitive strategies and good sportsmanship
    Advisor: David Barrientos & Dale Pearson
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2005/ dbarrientos@dcccd.edu & 214-860-2327/ dale.pearson@dcccd.edu

  • Chemical Calculations Club
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To serve as a forum for students enrolled in STEM disciplines, especially in chemistry, for developing and improving existing mathematical operations applied to chemical sciences, including introductory-, allied health-, general-, organic-, and biochemistry. As well as foster the continued interest in chemistry and all STEM disciplines, and provide members with an opportunity to become prompt and fluent in chemical calculations, to improve their critical thinking, oral and written communication, and to develop the skills and feeling of importance of a team work.
    Advisor: Jozef Borvak
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2186 / jborvak@dcccd.edu

  • Collegiate Black Student Union
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To represent the interests and concerns of black students at El Centro College, bring together all aspects of black student life for the purpose of improving the Campus environment, providing support for the students and the community. Establish and promote interaction and good relationships among ourselves and among all El Centro College students by encouraging pluralism on the part of the faculty administration, and the student body at large, and discourage and abate institutional and individual acts and symbols of racism. As well as heighten political, social, and cultural awareness and friendship between all people, regardless of race, sex, religion, or national origins, help students develop sound leadership skills. We welcome anyone committed to or interested in our mission regardless of race, religion, sex or nationality, moreover, we promote the El Centro College spirit of excellence and prestige
    Advisor: Florine Humble & Michael Higgins
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2057/ fhumble@dcccd.edu & 214-860-2472 mhiggins@dcccd.edu

  • Collegiate DECA
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To prepare emerging leaders and entrepreneurs for careers in marketing, finance, hospitality and management
    Advisor: Levarn Reed & Ramona Williams
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2134/ l.reed@dcccd.edu & 214-860-2367/ williamsr@dcccd.edu

  • Culinary Students Association
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: Provide an organization that promotes, enhances and nurtures student life within the Food and Hospitality program, promote the Food and Hospitality program and its students, and provide social and professional networking to students aspiring to enhance their food and hospitality careers. As well as provide members with an opportunity to interact with local chefs through job opportunities, on-call kitchen help source and maintain program alumni association and serve the college and external community through participation in college and community events.
    Advisor: Bill Hodges & Swee Goh
    Advisor Contact info 214-860-2716/ whodges@dcccd.edu & 214-860-2203/ shgoh@dcccd.edu

  • Conflict Resolution Society
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: Provide a network of information through speakers and activities to empower students to use conflict resolution skills to resolve differences both personally and professionally moving forward towards global peace making skills.
    Advisor: Adam McGough & Patricia Reyes
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2393/ bmcgough@dcccd.edu & 214-860-2393/ reyesreyes@aol.com

D

  • Drama Club
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: The primary purpose of ECDC is to promote better understanding of live theatre and performance arts. In addition, ECDC is to facilitate the socialization of students with shared interest in all aspects of theatre, including acting, directing, music, lighting, set design, and/or other forms of theatrical involvement and entertainment.
    Advisor: Peter Brown
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2345/ peter.brown@dcccd.edu

E

  • Environmental Club
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: The primary purpose of the Environmental Club is to promote alternatives to better El Centro
    Advisor: Maggie Lopez & Beth Salle
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2015/ maggielo@dcccd.edu

F

  • Fashion Society
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: Develop and create the skills and abilities required for meeting the ever changing needs of the fashion industry. Advance the interest and welfare of the students preparing a career in fashion. Advisor: Michael Anthony
    Contact info: 214-860-2350/ Email: MAnthony@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Brenda Carlson
    Contact info: 214-860-2344/ Email:bcarlson@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Wade Hyde Contact info: 214-860-2739/ Email:whyde@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Marilyn Sullivan
    Contact info:214-860-2379/ Email:Msullivan@dcccd.edu

  • Film Society of El Centro
  • Advisor: Alexander Curran Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2641/ Email:ccalexander@dcccd.edu

  • Fellowship of All Christians (FAC)
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: Strengthen members relations with Christ and to promote spiritual growth, to sustain faith within college and to assist with relationship skills and protection. Advisor: Ken Johnson
    Contact info: 214-860-2111/ Email:kenljohnson@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Gilda Boersma
    Contact info: 214-860-2121/ Email:gboersma@dcccd.edu

I

  • iLEAD Leadership Academy
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To provide students with leadership skills and to enhance academic achievement
    Advisor: Shanee’ Moore & Destiney Tolbert-Jackson
    Contact info: 214-860-2137/ Email:ksmoore@dcccd.edu & 214-860-2735/Email: djackson@dcccd.edu

  • Information Technology Society (ITS)
  • Advisor: Francisco Rodriguez
    Contact info: 214-860-2638/ Email:firodriguez@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Linda Savage
    Contact info: 214-860-2006/ Email:LSavage@dcccd.edu

L

  • League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC)
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To work consistently in advocating equal opportunity for Hispanics in government, law, education, and business.
    Advisor: Roberto Cruz
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2451/ Email:rcruz@dcccd.edu (link sends e-mail)
    Advisor: Rufus Rodriguez
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2134/ Email:rufus.rodriguez@dcccd.edu

  • LGBT+ Club
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To encourage the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender student to come together and form a community within the college that supports the LGBT community.
    Advisor: Michael Anthony
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2350/ Email:MAnthony@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Wade Hyde
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2739/ Email:whyde@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Gina Coffman
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2660/ Email:GCoffman@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Robin Fletcher
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2238/ Email:RNFletcher@dcccd.edu

  • Lambda Nu National Honor Society
  • Advisor: Raquel Tapia
    Advisor Contact info: 972-860-5056/ Email:rtapia@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Marilyn Anderson
    Advisor Contact info: 972-860-5022/ Email:MAnderson1@dcccd.edu

  • Literacy Circle
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: dedicated to the creation and discussion of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, winters, and literary criticism.
    Advisor: Samantha Schulze
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2092/ Email:SSchulze@dcccd.edu

M

  • Math Honors Society
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: Is to promote and support the subject of mathematics and to provide a framework for individuals to organize and conduct activities related to mathematics.
    Advisor: Mike Panahi
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2395/ Email:MPanahi@dcccd.edu

  • Mu Alpha Theta
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To promote Scholarship, enjoyment and understanding of mathematics among community college students.
    Advisor: Cassandra Bowell
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2366/ Email:cbowell@dcccd.edu

  • Multicultural Club
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To promote awareness, gain perspective and encourage understanding of various cultures by enabling social integration through community service and extra- curricular activities.
    Advisor: Robert Reyes
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2664/ Email:rreyes@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Joseph Davila
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2477/ Email:joseph.davila@dcccd.edu


O

  • OB/GYN Education Club
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To enhance the education of present and future sonography students, and to provide moral support and a problem solving forum for individual members. Advisor: Lynn Schluns
    Advisor Contact info: 972-860-5053/ Email:lschluns@dcccd.edu
    Advisor: Pamela Crawford
    Advisor Contact info: 972-860-5055/ Email:PCrawford@dcccd.edu

P

  • Paralegal Student Association
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: Provide Paralegal students with an opportunity to engage with fellow students and members of the Paralegal profession and encourage student involvement within the institution and paralegal association.
    Advisor: Christy Madden
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2319/ Email:christy.madden@dcccd.edu

  • Phi Theta Kappa
  • Mission Statement/Purpose: To recognize and encourage academic achievements of two year college students.
    Advisor: Karen Stills Royster
    Advisor Contact info: 214-860-2033/ Email:KStills@dcccd.edu

  • Psychology Club
  • Mission Statement: To provide a social environment in which students are provided relevant information to connect them with psychology faculty at El Centro College.
    Advisor: Melissa Weston - MWeston@dcccd.edu / David Goomas - dgoomas@dcccd.edu

  • Performing Arts Club
  • Mission Statement: Provide entertainment to nursing homes, shut-ins, school events, and public venues.
    Advisor : Jennifer Mcatee - jennifer.mcatee@dcccd.edu

R

  • Radiology
  • Mission Statement: Promote the Radiologic Technology profession, develop leadership skills, engage in professional development activities related to radiologic technology, participate in community services, and to raise funds to enable the organizations members to pay for activities, licensing, ceremonies and etc.
    Advisor:: Raquel Tapia - rtapia@dcccd.edu / Marilyn Anderson - MAnderson1@dcccd.edu / Janeen Johnson - JaneenJohnson@dcccd.edu

  • Rising Star
  • Mission Statement: To represent Rising Star students who have a desire to be more involved with their fellow program members and to promote socialization within the group, participation in Community Services Projects, Encouragement for continuing education, and mentoring newer students.
    Advisor Contact Info: Jenny Hevel jdemasi@dcccd.edu Claudette Drake CDrake@dcccd.edu

S

  • Seasoned Students and Up
  • Mission Statement: To Encourage students in college, promote leadership, know the importance of class completion and achieve student growth.
    Advisor: Kyndell Rollins - KRollins@dcccd.edu

  • Sigma Alpha Lambda
  • Mission Statement: To promote academic excellence at the chapter and national level and to encourage high academic achievement among school-aged children in our community. To engage university students, faculty, and staff as well as the surrounding community in meaningful, relevant service initiatives and raise awareness for worthwhile causes. To promote an understanding of the service model of leadership, to educate on the philosophy of leading through service, and to develop leaders who incorporate service into their lives.
    Advisor: Destiney Tolbert-Jackson - djackson@dcccd.edu / Shanee’ Moore - ksmoore@dcccd.edu

  • Sister 2 Sister
  • Mission Statement: Empowering the development of academic and social advancement of female students.
    Advisor : Maggie Lopez - maggielo@dcccd.edu / Serina Davenport - smdavenport@dcccd.edu

  • Social Games Club
  • Mission Statement: To promote the growth of all El Centro Clubs
    Advisor : Maggie Lopez - maggielo@dcccd.edu

  • Society for the Advancement of Management (SAM)
  • Mission Statement: Management organization and business case development for team competition.
    Advisor : Lea Davis - leadavis@dcccd.edu / Shawn Jackson - shawn.jackson@dcccd.edu

  • Sonography Club
  • Mission Statement: To enhance the education of present and future sonography students, as well as provide moral support and a problem solving forum for individual members.
    Advisor : Lynn Schluns - Ischluns@dcccd.edu / Pamela Crawford - PCrawford@dcccd.edu

  • Spanish Club
  • Advisor : Juan Soto - jmsoto@dcccd.edu

  • Spoken Word Club
  • Mission Statement: Provide a space for El Centro College students to express ideas through and thoughts through the medium of poetry and/or spoken word.
    Advisor : Vanessa Taylor - vtayIor2@dcccd.edu
    Mission Statement: To bring awareness of how STEM fields impact society. Provide peer mentoring/tutoring. Engage in community events.
    Advisor Contact Info: Devon Kodvis devon.kodzis@dcccd.edu & Myisha Coleman mjcdeman@dcccd.edu

  • Student Government Association (SGA)
  • Mission Statement: To uphold dignity, integrity, and sanctity of the student body.
    Advisor : Destiney Tolbert- Jackson - djackson@dcccd.edu / Shanee' Moore - ksmoore@dcccd.edu

  • Student Nursing Association
  • Mission Statement: Promote professional behaviors among student nurses. Encourage and support students during the nursing program.
    Advisor : Roberta Edson - REdson@dcccd.edu

  • Student Veterans Association
  • Advisor : Jamie Gregory - jlgregory@dcccd.edu

V

  • Visual Arts Club
  • Mission Statement: For students in the visual arts. This club seeks to: Deepen awareness of local and regional art communities, explore and consider all forms of creativity.
    Advisor : Chaitra Garrick, Art Faculty, clinehan@dcccd.edu / Jill Foltz, Art Faculty, jfoltz@dcccd.edu