All El Centro College Campuses will be closed in observance of the Independence Day Holiday from Friday, July 3rd through Sunday, July 5th.

CE Fall Schedule »

Protective Services


PROTECTIVE SERVICES
   
CONTACT:                Tarsha Williams, Coordinator - 214 860-5764
ADVISING                 Call 214 860-2262    
REGISTRATION:      Call 214 860-2226
Click Here to Register
Eligible for Financial Aid

COURSE & SECTION DAY DATE TIME HOURS ROOM FEE INSTRUCTOR
SLPS 2000 51270
Non Commission Level ll
S 09/12 8:00a-5:00p 8 BJP 1210 $65 Kores
SLPS 2000 51271
Non Commission Level ll
S 09/26 8:00a-5:00p 8 BJP 2002 $65 Kores
SLPS 2000 51272
Non Commission Level ll
S 10/10 8:00a-5:00p 8 BJP 2002 $65 Kores
SLPS 2000 51273
Non Commission Level ll
S 10/24 8:00a-5:00p 8 BJP 2002 $65 Kores
SLPS 2000 51274
Non Commission Level ll
S 11/07 8:00a-5:00p 8 BJP 2102 $65 Kores
SLPS 2000 51275
Non Commission Level ll
S 11/21 8:00a-5:00p 8 BJP 2002 $65 Kores
This program will teach individuals with little or no previous experience the basic principles of the security industry using the State of Texas Required Materials.   It also provides the Level ll training and certification as required by the State of Texas.  Once complete, you will be provided with the basic-certification (to be submitted and approved by the State) to be able to work legally as an unarmed security officer in the State of Texas.
COURSE & SECTION DAY DATE TIME HOURS ROOM FEE INSTRUCTOR
SLPS 1013 51276
Commission Level lll
M-F 10/12-10/23 5:30p-9:30p 40 BJP 2802     /
Gun Range
$175 Kores/McClure
SLPS 1013 51277
Commission Level  lll
M-F 11/09-11/20 5:30p-9:30p 40 BJP 2802    /
Gun Range
$175 Kores/McClure
This course provides the Level lll training and certification required by the Texas Department of Public Safety, Private Security Bureau (PSB), including both classroom and firearms range qualifications. The student will learn legal limitations on use of handguns, powers and authority of private security officers, familiarity with legislation, note taking, report writing, range firing and procedures, handgun safety and maintenance, required range qualification, and first aid. Student will be required to qualify with a handgun and shotgun during the class. The handgun must be at least a .38 caliber revolver or at least a 9mm Semi-automatic. Shotguns will be supplied for qualification by instructor. Additional materials needed: Handgun and 100 rounds of ammunition. If students does not have a handgun, revolvers and ammunition can be provided for an additional fee of $20. Prior arrangements must be made with the instructor if student requires additional supplies.
SLPS 1013 51278
PERSONAL PROTECTION OFFICER LEVEL IV
M-F
11/02-11/13
5;30p-9:30p
40
BJP 1210
$200
TBA
This is the 40 hour Texas Department of Public Safety/Private Security Bureau (PSB) Level IV Personal Protection Officer (PPO) course. It fulfills the State of Texas training requirements of the PSB for a Personal Protection Officer license. Items covered include, how to protect the principle when alone or on a team. Threat avoidance techniques, and how to plan and scout escape routes. Some defensive tactics are taught as well as transportation tips, and the importance of proper planning. Prerequisite Commission Level lll
SLPS 2059 51270
ADVANCED INSTRUCTOR COURSE
M-F
10/26--11/06
5:30p-9:30p
40
BJP 2580
$200
Clark, S.
SLPS 2059 51271
ADVANCED INSTRUCTOR COURSE
M-F
11/09-11/20
5:30p-9:30p
40
BJP 2580
$200
Clark, S.
This course complies with mandated Texas Commission on Private Security Training Standards for issuance of Security Classroom Instructor license.  Course curriculum is taken directly from Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Basic Instructor.
SLPS 2000 51276
SECURITY FIREARMS REQUALIFICATION
INET
09/03
INET
7
INET
$75
Clark, S.
SLPS 2000 51277
SECURITY FIREARMS REQUALIFICATION
INET
10/08
INET
7
INET
$75
Clark, S.
SLPS 2000 51278
SECURITY FIREARMS REQUALIFICATION
INET
11/12
INET
7
INET
$75
Clark, S.
This course covers the firearms requalification requirements in order to recertify as a Commissioned Security Officer.  Training must take place within the last ninety days prior to the expiration date of the commission license.