Memorial Day Holiday - Monday, May 30: All buildings and locations of El Centro College will be closed. We will reopen Tuesday, May 31.

Office of First Year Experience »

New Student Orientation


At New Student Orientation you will:

  • Discover the classes needed to work towards your degree.
  • Register for classes.
  • Learn about free services that are available on campus to help you reach academic success.
  • Receive a tour of the college.
  • Learn how to use online tools to handle your academic affairs, including online course registration.
  • Meet the First Year Experience & Retention Services Staff
 

New Student Orientation Agenda:

  • Sign In
  • College 101
  • Tour
  • Educational Planning Session

Who needs to attend New Student Orientation?


Required:
 
  • Students who are new to college. (Never Attended)
  • Students who have not successfully completed any college level coursework

Strongly Recommended:
 
  • Dual Credit Students
  • Transfer Students with few college level credits
  • Any student who wants to become more familiar with El Centro College
 

What do I need to do before signing up for New Student Orientation?


Prior to signing up for orientation the following steps must be completed. Failure to complete all of these steps can result in being unable to successfully register for your course(s) and potentially having to repeat the orientation. All students must do the following:
 
  • Apply for Admissions
  • Submit all necessary documentation
  • Meet with an advisor
  • Take the TSI Assessment if necessary
  • New Student Prep
*Please refer to our Getting Started link for more information.
El Centro College May Term courses begin 5/13/16. Summer I course begin 6/6/16 and Summer II course begin 7/12/16. Fall courses begin 8/29/16. If you’re interested in registering for classes in the upcoming sessions, please follow the Getting Started page or Contact Us for more information.

West Campus Students: If you are interesting in learning more about West Campus or taking courses there, please contact 972-391-1400.

Downtown Campus Students!  Please view the available dates below for the upcoming New Student Orientations. Click on the “SIGN UP HERE” button to choose what session you want to come to.

  • Wed 4/25/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Thurs 4/28/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Wed 5/4/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Sat 5/21/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Wed 5/25/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Wed 6/1/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Sat 6/11/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Thurs 6/9/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Tues 6/14/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Thurs 6/23/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Wed 6/29/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Thurs 7/7/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Mon 7/11/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Wed 7/13/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Tues 7/19/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Sat 7/23/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Mon 7/25/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Thurs 7/28/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Tues 8/2/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Fri 8/5/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Wed 8/10/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Fri 8/12/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Mon 8/15/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Thurs 8/18/2016 - 2:30 PM to 6:00 PM
  • Fri 8/19/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM
  • Sat 8/20/2016 - 9:30 AM to 1:00 PM

SIGN UP HERE

 

Survey:

Take the Survey! Tell us about your New Student Orientation experience.

New Student Orientation Photos

 
New Student Orientation photo
New Student Orientation photo
New Student Orientation photo